Personalized Legal Attention Call


Make It Our Fight

At White & White, Attorneys at Law, we care about our clients and about helping them improve their lives.

How quickly can you get a divorce in Tennessee?

On Behalf of | Jul 13, 2022 | Divorce

Divorce can be a stressful ordeal, and most people try to avoid it altogether.

Unfortunately, marriage does not always last. Research estimates that 41% of first marriages result in divorce. If you find yourself in this category, know that there are a number of factors that can affect how quickly you can finalize your divorce.

Your residency

You must be a resident of Tennessee to file for a Tennessee divorce. This means that you or your spouse must have lived in Tennessee for six or more months before you can file.

The waiting period

As part of Tennessee law, there is a waiting period that states you must wait to divorce for at least 60 days after you file. If you have children, you must wait 90 days. Often, divorces are emotionally charged. This cooling-down period exists to give couples time to be practical and ensure they are making the right decision.

The type of divorce

An uncontested divorce goes by smoothly. If you and your spouse reach an agreement before or during the waiting period, you can finalize your divorce right after. However, you must resolve any points of contention through mediation or litigation, which will extend the process.

The complexity of your divorce

If your divorce goes to trial, you will not receive a court date earlier than over half a year after you file. Scheduling conflicts or major points of contention can continually push your court date back. Some divorces resolve after just one day in court, but the process can stretch on for months if your divorce is highly complex.

Knowing the general timeline and what type of divorce you are filing for can help you prepare for what is to come.